Home news Greg Rutherford: Long jump champion withdraws from 2017 World Championships

Greg Rutherford: Long jump champion withdraws from 2017 World Championships


World Athletics Championships on the BBCVenue: London Stadium Dates: 4-13 AugustCoverage: Live across BBC One and Two, BBC Radio 5 live, BBC Radio 5 live sports extra and onlineReigning long jump champion Greg Rutherford has withdrawn from next month’s World Championships in London because of an ankle injury.Rutherford, who won Olympic gold at London 2012 prior to claiming the 2015 world title, said he was “gutted”.Richard Kilty, who was selected for the 4x100m relay, has also pulled out of the event with a broken finger.

But Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers, Lennie Waite, Marc Scott and Jess Turner have been added to the GB squad.Rutherford said he had done “everything” he could to compete at the stadium where he won his Olympic gold five years ago but had failed to overcome an ankle ligament injury.”With an incredible start to the year in training, and very promising early season form, I have had a difficult series of setbacks as the season progressed,” added Rutherford, who also won Commonwealth gold in 2014 and the European title in 2014 and 2016.”Most recently, a badly damaged ankle ligament and a sportsman’s hernia, really put paid to my plans. The injuries have taken longer to heal than we hoped, and I have been unable to even jump at all in training, let alone compete.”I am truly gutted. That stadium is such a special place for me, I am so devastated that I won’t be competing in front of the best fans in the world, in the stadium that changed my life.””Greg is one of only a few British athletes to complete the ‘Grand Slam’ of medals, but that won’t make missing London any easier,” said Neil Black, performance director for British Athletics.”He desperately wanted to defend his world title in front of the home crowd, but unfortunately his injury hasn’t cleared up in time and the hard but sensible decision had to be made to withdraw.”Meanwhile, Proctor and Sawyers will contest the long jump, Waite will run the 3,000m steeplechase, Scott the 5,000m and Turner will be in the 400m hurdles.The World Championships take place from 4 to 13 August at the London Stadium and an 81-strong team will represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland.The squad in fullMen100m: James Dasaolu, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah200m: Zharnel Hughes, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot400m: Dwayne Cowan, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney 800m: Elliot Giles, Kyle Langford, Guy Learmonth 1500m: Josh Kerr, Chris O’Hare, Jake Wightman5,000m: Andrew Butchart, Mo Farah, Marc Scott10,000m: Mo Farah 3,000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett, Zak Seddon 110m hurdles: David King, David Omoregie, Andrew Pozzi400m hurdles: Jack Green High jump: Robbie Grabarz Triple jump: Nathan Fox Hammer: Nick Miller Decathlon: Ashley Bryant 20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson 50km race walk: Dominic King Marathon: Andrew Davies, Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Reece Prescod, Danny Talbot, CJ Ujah4x400m: Cameron Chalmers, Dwayne Cowan, Jack Green, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Delano Williams, Rabah YousifWomen100m: Desiree Henry, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora 800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp, Adelle Tracey1500m: Jessica Judd, Sarah McDonald, Laura Muir, Laura Weightman5,000m: Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir, Steph Twell10,000m: Jessica Martin, Beth Potter, Charlotte Taylor 3,000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke, Lennie Waite 100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter 400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle, Jess TurnerHigh jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Morgan LakePole vault: Holly Bradshaw Long jump: Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen Discus: Jade Lally Hammer: Sophie Hitchon Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson 20km race walk: Gemma Bridge, Bethan Davies Marathon: Tracy Barlow, Alyson Dixon, Charlotte Purdue4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Desiree Henry, Corinne Humphreys, Shannon Hylton, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams 4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Eilidh Doyle, Laviai Nielsen, Anyika Onuora, Perri Shakes-Drayton
Source: BBC Bucks